Former Mediator &
Business Adviser

Mediation styles

by Paul Gerrard


There are four widely recognised styles of mediation. These are:
  1. Facilitative mediation
  2. Evaluative mediation
  3. Transformative mediation
  4. Narrative mediation
And within each of these styles each mediator uses profession judgement to determine exactly what to do at each stage of the mediation. No two mediators can be expected to conduct a mediation in exactly the same way.